Current Reading

What have I been reading lately for relaxing? It’s not things that most would believe to be relaxing. Most of it has been either ways to improve my writing, or to research other ways to write.

It’s an odd form of relaxing. Research? In my sight, research is a way to tone things down in my day. I’m use to researching all sorts of topics throughout my day. Either in science, daily news, math, and a few other handfuls of subjects. Although it can be tiring, I choose to research because it’s a helpful tool to have. I research in a specific area in something I really enjoy. That’s what writing is to me. A particular topic that I’m constantly learning how to develop and create into an abstract creation.

Although, my research typically goes into freelance writing, I do on occasion pick up a book that I use to research as well. By “book”, I mean one that an author has written in fiction. Freelance writing has books, but the book series I’m most interested in lately has been the Dresden Files, by Jim Butcher.

The Dresden Files’ writing style has been a vast wealth of help for my writing mind. I’ve attempted a few forms of first person narration. While it can be difficult at times, a few people that I use for feedback find it much more enlightening. For some reason the story series that I’m creating seems to fit extremely well within the realm of the first person narration. Have I changed the way the story is told? Perhaps. I have yet to decide.

It’s taking time for me to change my ways. When you cement most of them in the tips of your fingers, it’s difficult to pull away. You’re feeling the story comes more naturally within the domain of your original version of writing. To write in a completely different way you’re finding it awkward, like the first time you pick up an instrument. You know all the correct notes that can be played in music. Only the instrument isn’t yours. It’s taking much longer to know how the notes will be used and how the music itself will be played.

You may even find that you’re more adept at this particular instrument. While it takes time for practice, you’re slowly edging your way into a new way of creating. As time ticks by, you’re learning more of the new limitations which the instrument is given. Then you begin to wonder, how else can it be explored? How can you make it your own?

That’s the biggest question I have for my writing. How am I going to be able to make it my own and adapt it to the writing world.

Meanwhile, I’m still advancing in ideas. Thoughts of the story continue to swim around in my mind. I see it, I want to give it life and breath the air into all the character’s and the plot’s lungs.

Time will tell what I’m able to do within these new limitations. Will I find another way to implement what I’ve learned? We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

