Guest Post: Life of a Thinker

Allow me to introduce Liam O’Dell! This extremely, well thought out man’s blog caught my eye. I asked him to grace my blog with own insight on a manner. If what you see below “wow’s” you, wait until you see his  blog.

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and The Great Detective: How They Inspired Me – A Guest Blog Post from The Life of a Thinker

 

As the title suggests, I am a fan of Sherlock Holmes and his creator, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, as I presume that some of you are. So much so that I have the whole collection of books and the DVD’s of Sherlock. But what can I say that I’ve learnt from Sherlock Holmes and his unique way of thinking?
Well, as a thinker myself, I like to be aware of different thought processes, and how they can help me and others in life. For example, the difference between Sherlock and his sidekick, Watson is that Sherlock observes, rather than Watson just sees, using the example of the number of stairs inside 221B being 17, which Sherlock knew but Watson didn’t. So, how can this be applied to the real day?
It’s simple, we need to be more observant. Like it or not, all of us ignore information which we do not consider important. There is this idea that we, as humans, like to focus on the task in hand and the details/important information, but by doing this, some other important, yet not blatantly obvious pieces of information might appear to us.
So, next time you are out somewhere, acknowledge things in more detail, as you never know, the information you would have ignored may have been quite useful. They may end up as future novel ideas, future blog post ideas or new routes to take in life. So, go out there, and observe!
Liam
Excellent stuff! Go check out his blog and see what he’s all about.
Leave a Reply

