Kick off: The Next Big Thing

To start off the next succession of work for 2013 I wanted to begin with a hi-five to other writers. Writers need to stick together. We’re all we’ve got for the others. Especially those starting out. To start, I want to give a quick Q&A by, yours truly, that’s focused on my next big thing. At the end, I’m going to link a few writers that I want to promote and hope they do the same on their blogs. This idea was done by my Instructor, Jason Brick. Check out his blog here.

1) What is the working title of your next book?

– Drake Williams. I may go to something else, but it may have the main character’s name in the title.

2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

– I’ve always been a big fan of Supernatural. When I was seventeen I had watched a movie called “Dylan Dog”. I liked the idea of there being a “protector”, or overseer, of the Supernatural. Someone in charge that would then ensure that humans and those nasty things wouldn’t come into contact with each other. I did my best to create my own little section of Supernatural creatures, and make them unique. That’s the biggest thing I want to do in this series.

3) What genre does your book fall under?

– Definitely Supernatural horror. I’d like to think detective, but part of me doesn’t think I can be that complicated.

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

– I’d love to have Jensen Ackles as the lead, as Drake. Perhaps Benedict Cumberbatch as Cornelius, and, I haven’t revealed this character to many people, but I’d like to play Traycn. Only because the character is so much like myself and I fit his size.

 5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
 – Drake Williams is tasked with defending the mortal world from the Supernatural darkness that threatens to consume all things, good and evil.

 

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

– I’ve thrown this idea around. If I feel that I attempt to push it hard enough, and no one takes a bite I’ll self-publish. After I’ve self-publish and become a big enough hit, I’ll try again and go, “Look what I can do!”. It’d be the best way to prove there is a profit in the book, and people do like it.

 7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?
– It took me two months of my senior year. I wrote the story in first-person. It took a long time for me to figure out that I wasn’t too good at that type of writing. Months later, I rewrote most of it and did it in third-person. I’m currently rewriting it again and trying in first-person once more. I find it too much fun to put away.

 

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

– Definitely the Dresden Files. I’ve recently read a few of Mr. Butcher’s books in the series, and I’m already a die-hard fan. I want to continue to read more of his, and see what other inspiration he can possibly provide me. I’m exceedingly jealous of his creativity.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

– I’d have to say it was my inner child. When I was younger I had always wanted to write stories, to write books. Around middle school I was continually put down for my stories. Teachers didn’t approve of the creativity, calling them wild ideas and not to be used in school environment. After my junior year, I felt that I needed to write again. I had this urge to write, think, and create something all of my own. I had always been writing in my free time beforehand when an idea hit me. Though, I never had the proper motivation to keep the idea in check. I used my senior project to give me that scare-tactic.

10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

– The idea that it’s going to be different. It won’t feature a complete hero who’s going to come to the aid of the damsel. It’s not going to feature a cast that you’ll feel are stereotypically. I wanted to make something different. Make it stand out from the way it’s told and the way people will act in the book. I desire to write something that’s dark, terrifying.

As promised, here are other writers that I hope will continue this Q&A. I also wish to ask them to continue this line as well. To ask five other writers to do the same as I’ve asked them, and continue down the road. Looking forward to whatever is hoping to create in 2013!

1. Rarasaur
2. Will
3. Cristian Mihai
4. Jake Shoch (Waiting for future link)
5. Open for whoever wants to submit a link to their page!

Those who I’ve linked, when you do your own little Q&A make sure to link my blog on your first paragraph! If you’re looking to be the fifth writer in my set of links, please send me an E-mail and I’d love to promote you.

Looking forward to this year with everyone!

Leave a Reply

