Resident Evil 6: Another Zombie Game With More Violence

I was never the biggest fan of Resident Evil in my youth. I didn’t get that big into zombie games until I found myself much more interested in the sort of Halo game-play. After that, it’s all rolled together from there. Bouncing around to different genres, I attempted to go back and play as much of the Resident Evil series as I could. Saying that, Resident Evil 6 has been the biggest out of them all, it’s simply massive! Addressing that, I’ll say that I am not a fan of the sixth installment. Better than the fifth, for sure, but the sixth didn’t live up to the expectation that it had been leaving for everyone.

The game breaks up the campaign into four different perspectives. You unlock the fourth one after completing the first three. I thought that was interesting, most franchises focus on different people over a span of games, not all at once. Playing through each section, I realized that they were all connected in different sections. The players at one point or another crossed paths with the others. Once they did this, they’d reveal a key part to the other’s key arc. It was reassuring, I had thought that some of the questions that I had felt were left unanswered was the company hinting to another. Thankfully, my previous theory was false.

There’s a different aspect for each one of the campaigns that bring some attention to it. The Leon campaign focuses on more of a horror aspect. I felt that it was accurate to how a Resident Evil game had first been structured. The other two, Chris and Jack, had the player being pushed into a much larger world, Leon’s was large as well, that were mainly focused on action. The action was decent at best, for the genre of the game I felt that I was playing an over the top zombie game. Yes, most zombie games lately have gone that road. With the Leon campaign, my hopes were that they’d continue as such. I found myself sorely mistaken.

One of the biggest aspects that I do not approve of is the camera system. The thing feels like I gave it to a child, told the child to swing it around, and I’ll fire. The way it felt as I moved around was clunky, and continually giving me problems. My eyes beheld the “You Are Dead” screen, too many times due to this attribute. Although, what helped me considerably was the fact that I didn’t have to aim to fire anymore, this was my biggest pain from the fifth one. They also allowed for you to heal via tablets, which was easily accessible. You weren’t given the option to make healing a factor in your weapon switch up.

While they approved parts of the controls, their take into action left me feeling that I had done most of it before, which I had. What they failed to know from having crossing over campaigns, is that most of the players had probably already played that particular scene, or watched that video. Sure, it’s from a different perspective. It’s still the same thing that I played a few hours ago. Just because I look different, doesn’t mean the entire scenario changed up, magically. Some of these particular action sequences were overly long; I felt they didn’t need to be gone over again.

This is all game-play, and structure, I have yet to cover my favorite part: story. The story felt… Well, dull. I felt that the character’s acting was lacking a strong enthusiasm that had been placed in other games. Like each character was missing a sense of motivation. Or, it may have just been the writing that placed me to sleep. The plot was to a degree of little surprises, with most of what was going appeared to be far-fetched and unneeded. A dead dog just took a key? Right… Because that makes me feel like I need to save the world from the zombies.

Overall, with the game-play and snoozing plot, Resident Evil 6 dropped. Indeed, it was better than the fifth installment. Capcom once again missed the mark on what most of their audience could have been looking for. Certainly, I can see positive aspects. Merely the negative aspects highlighted a majority of my experience.

I infected this installment with a 6.5 out of 10.

Bigger is sometimes never better.

Leave a Reply

